We can’t pay back salaries at once – illegal ministers

Justice Minister Given Lubinda

THE group of people who remained in office after the dissolution of parliament in 2016 say they cannot manage to refund the salaries in one lumpsum as ordered by Constitutional Court.

Instead they suggest those still serving as ministers pay installments of K10,000 while those who have retired want to pay K5, 000 monthly.

Twenty out of the 63 have already paid.

Ngosa Simbyakula and 42 others claim that they are unable to settle the assessed amounts in a lump sum due to a number of factors.

Constitutional Court registrar Dorcas Malama in a judgement dated December 7,2020 issued a 30 days ultimatum to the 63 former ministers and their deputies to pay back K4.2 million to the country’s treasury which elapses on January 7 this year.

According to an affidavit in support of summons for an order for settlement of assessed amounts in intslaments the 43 through their lawyer Bonaventure Mutale stated that their net pay is K39,122.96 according to a sample of the payslip.

Mutale said it will be observed from the same payslip that their net pay is K32,527.94.

He claimed that the 43 have family and other financial commitments which include school fees, tertiary education fees, medical expenses, utility charges among others.

“That I have been advised by the respondents serving in capacities of ministers and Members of Parliament that they each propose to settle the assessed amounts in monthly installments of K10, 000,” said Mutale.

 “The rest of the said respondents are in retirement and their main source of income was derived from substance farming. This group proposed to settle the assessed amount in monthly installments of K5, 000”.

The 43 who have not paid back the money are Simbyakula, Davies Mwila, the late Joseph Kasonde, Jean Kapata, Fackson Shamenda, Christabel Ngimbu, Nkandu Luo, Vincent Mwale, Joseph Katema, Stephen Kampyongo, John Phiri, Christopher Yaluma, Micheal Kaingu, and Given Lubinda.

Others are Alexander Chikwanda, Dora Siliya, Kapembwa Simbao, Esther Banda, Nicholas Banda, Gerry Chanda, Chitalu Chilufya, Danny Ching’imbu, Dorothy Kazunga, John Kufuna, Evans lawrence, Josephine Limata, Joseph Lungu, David Mabumba and Sydney Mushanga.

The rest are Richard Musukwa, Christopher Mvunga, Alfrida Mwamba, Patrick Ngoma, Lawrence Sichalwe, Forrie Tembo, Charles Zulu, Davies Chisopa, Dorson Kafwaya, Mwimba Malama, Nathaniel Mumbukwanu, Mwenya Musenge, Poniso Njeulu and Chomba Sikazwe.

©Kalemba January 7, 2020


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here